Board and mission

Board and mission

As a member-owned electric distribution utility, we provide electrical power and related services to more than 5,000 consumers. Our service territory lies mainly within the northeast Iowa counties of Bremer, Butler, Chickasaw, and Floyd. We also serve the communities of Aplington, Fairbank, Fredericksburg, Readlyn, and Hudson Municipal Electric Utility.

The cooperative is governed by a board of directors elected from among the members of Butler County REC. The board consists of nine co-op members serving three-year terms. In December, we publish a newsletter article announcing the Nominating Committee who will select members to run for the three director positions whose terms will expire. If you are interested in running for a position or want to recommend someone residing in any of the three districts seeking nominations, please contact a member of the Nominating Committee. Voting on the three director positions will take place at our annual meeting or by a mail-in balloting process.

2020 board officers: Left to right--Tim Schrage, secretary; Gerald Schmitt, assistant secretary-treasurer; Gary Poppe, vice president; and Leland Boyd, treasurer (not pictured, Duane Rieckenberg, president)

2020 board members

  • Duane Rieckenberg, Ionia, president: representing the west half of Bremer County
  • Gary Poppe, Ionia, vice president: representing Chickasaw County
  • Tim Schrage, Allison, secretary: representing the northwest quarter of Butler County
  • Leland Boyd, Charles City, treasurer: representing the east half of Floyd County
  • Gerald Schmitt, Rockford, assistant secretary-treasurer: representing the west half of Floyd County
  • Steve Boevers, Readlyn: representing the east half of Bremer County
  • Allyn Harms, Clarksville: representing the southeast quarter of Butler County
  • Share Brandt, Allison: representing the southwest quarter of Butler County
  • Troy Feldman, Greene: representing the northeast quarter of Butler County

Board directors can be contacted at:

2020 tentative board meeting dates

  • Wednesday, October 28, night meeting
  • Tuesday, November 24, night meeting
  • Thursday, December 17, day meeting

Our mission

To improve quality of life for those whose lives we touch.

We will be the best in the eyes of our members, employees and industry by:

  • Delivering safe, reliable, affordable and environmentally responsible energy
  • Providing innovative solutions to member needs
  • Enhancing quality of life and viability in our communities
  • Creating a wide range of opportunities for our employees

One advantage of receiving electrical power from us is that you belong to a locally owned company directed by the people it serves. As a Touchstone Energy® Cooperative, we operate under a set of core values and will accelerate achievement of the above purpose and mission through actively displaying and holding ourselves accountable for the following core values:

  • Integrity
  • Accountability
  • Innovation
  • Commitment to Community
  • Teamwork

2019 cooperative facts

  • Total miles of energized line -- 1,825
  • Average number of consumers -- 5,098
  • Number of consumers per mile of line -- 2.79
  • Number of substations -- 23
  • Total kilowatts used by consumers in 2018 -- 277,810,752  
  • Deferred patronage distribution in 2018 -- $733,902.44

Office headquarters are in Allison, and our line crews operate out of a warehouse also located in Allison and a second warehouse in Horton. 

Contact us for an in-depth history of Butler County REC.